Daily Archives: October 27, 2007

ouch

tonight, mel was having trouble with her computer. so me, being the computer  guru that  I am  I stand up to walk across the room to help out. Sounds easy doesn’t it?

well, i take one step and quickly realize that I can not feel my right leg. just as my foot lands on the ground, my leg buckles backwards behind my knee and I drop like a sack of potatoes. so, while I was down there, I grabbed her computer and got it working again.

lucky for me, my best friend’s a Phd of physical therapy and got me these awesome ice bags that go around my legs. So, I’ve been keeping them elevated and cooled.

Such is life with me. You never know what you’ll get.

Powered by ScribeFire.

Hi-Def last supper

a new rendering of Davinci’s Last Supper can be found here. it is online at 16 billion pixels.

Powered by ScribeFire.

A Sobering Statistic

Ok, so let me start this story by giving you some back story.

We’ve had an uphill battle with health benefits ever since I was unable to work and got on SSDI. My companies health insurance remained intact, but they doubled my premiums (and didn’t take out the premium like they said they would, then sent us a bill for 9 months of premiums). Then, at the beginning of this month, we found out that in order to keep my health insurance for 2008, our monthly premiums will go from 79bucks – which isn’t a ton of money, but the plan is CRAP – to $190 a month -for the same CRAP plan!

So, I’ve filled out the state application for medicaid to see what the difference would be financially. Now, last time I went to the state, they told me that i’d have to pay the first 800 bucks each month before they’d pay 1cent. On top of this, we are supposed to qualify for food stamps, but no. So, I’m not getting my hopes up. Plus the state of our state budget isn’t the best.

In the midst of this, I’ve been doing all the research I can online about income limits and benefit plans. Guess what I found out? In the U.S., for a family of four the poverty line is $20,500.  Without giving too much away, we officially make 200 bucks more than being impoverished – now, this doesn’t include the housing allowance that is coming in for the next couple years, but we aren’t “comfortable” by any means.

What is sobering to me is that figure is way above the rest of the planet. Comparatively, we are living the high life.

MSU vs Iowa

Kickoff at noon (4 minutes). i’m more than a little anxious for this game. Iowa is always a tough competitor. All those corn-fed linemen are daunting. Hopefully the Spartan line will hold and protect Hoyer today. We’ll see, let’s play ball!!

Update:

Well, another disappointing ending. Overall, a good game but we sure let the second half get away from us. From the beginning it was clear that we were more seasoned, and talented. But, the Iowa defense exploded on us. Their QB didn’t do great, but the rest of their team made up for it. Anyway, there goes the BCS again.