Introducing Congressman Richard Simmons

Could the health guru head for Capitol Hill?

Yep, this is just about right in our bizzaro-upside down world we live in. (where tomatoes kill you and where Arnold runs california – ht to Patton Oswald) Cnn reports that Simmons said he wants to be taken as serious as a Congressman, and may be considering becoming a Congressman.

WASHINGTON (CNN) – Fitness star and effervescence
extreme Richard Simmons is on Capitol Hill today, tackling the issue of
childhood obesity and pushing for increased school exercise programs.
But as he testifies before the House Education and Labor Committee, the
60-year-old is nodding toward that celebrity siren song: political
office.

In a half-serious, half-jocular tone, Simmons described his approach
to the hearing, saying, “I want to have the respect of a congressman, I
want to talk like a congressman, and maybe, someday, I’ll be a
congressman.”

During three minutes of follow-up questions, Simmons displayed an
almost Washingtonian flare for avoiding a direct position. “However I
can be of use,” he said, “If my country wants me, I’ll be there for my
country.”

So has no plans to run?

“Well,” he answered coyly, “I don’t know. I may run for office. You never know.”

One response to “Introducing Congressman Richard Simmons

  1. If this guy gets elected, Mayor Williamson of Flint will NEVER get the baggy pants off the street!.

    Jim

Leave a Reply

