Labor Day Weekend

It’s after 10pm on Sunday, August 31st. Labor Day weekend 2008. Once again, we spent the day at the annual Acker Family campout. It was a blistering hot day, even in the shade. The family sets up a “tabernacle” each year (a giant tarp/tent) where we spent much of the day under today. The girls swam at the pool, then later at the “lake” – a generous name for what appeared to be a big pond. Later on, my father-in-law planned an Indiana Jones themed game for the family to play which involved solving puzzles and performing various challenges – like shooting pepsi cans off a picnic table with a toy bow and suction cup arrows.

It was a two hour drive into places in Michigan I didn’t know existed. For instance, did you know there was a “Decatur” in Michigan? Yea, me either.

I would be remiss if I didn’t mention my huge disappointment in MSU’s loss to Cal on Saturday night. It was also hard to see UofM loose two openers in a row. Not a good day for Michigan football.

Tomorrow, we’re going to try and end the summer with the kids. We took Molly to go see Mamma Mia – sing along version on Friday and when we walked out, they handed us free passes to any movie we wanted! So, it looks like we’re taking Kailey to go see it tomorrow – or at least Mel is taking her. I don’t know if I can sit through it twice. I’ll be watching the Tennessee football game tomorrow as well. Hopefully I will watch a good game via the SEC.

Leave a Reply

